Tarot Workout: Should I Change Jobs?

Tarot Workouts are short, real-life case studies to help you exercise your tarot-reading muscle. Enjoy it as a sample reading. Or, if you are a tarot student, read the question, check out the cards, and then step away from the essay to formulate your own response. Read the end later to see how my response compares to your own.

The Question

My client explained that she had been offered a job in a different company. With very few details, she asked whether switching jobs looked like a good idea. Her precise question was, “Which position would be more advisable for me to take?”

The Spread

3-card tarot spreadI chose a simple 3-card spread:

  • CARD 1 (Highest potential at current job): 3 of Cups, upright
  • CARD 2 (Highest potential at job #2): 2 of Pentacles, reversed
  • CARD 3 (Most advisable move): 9 of Wands, upright

I used the Pamela Colman Smith Commemorative deck for this reading:

Present Day Tarot Reading 1.jpg***** Students, stop here and formulate your own answers *****

My Response

It’s always noteworthy when a reading points in a different direction than my logical brain. If I’d been asked this question from a friend, I most likely would have said, “go for it!” My personal inclination is to try new things and err towards risk-taking. However, for me these cards painted a different story. Below is my written response to the client.

“It looks like staying in your current job will be easier and more enjoyable for you, while job #2 will be a challenge and possibly too much to manage. The overall advice from the cards is to sit tight, rely on your strengths, and be on the lookout for better opportunities.

I always give advice with a grain of salt, and strongly encourage you to look at each card and check it through your own intuition. A card-by-card description may give you insight as to the choice you ultimately want to make:

Version 31) The 3 of Cups is a card that symbolizes a supportive group of friends. It may be that your co-workers at your current job offer this for you, and/or that while you are there, you have access to fun and support (even if it comes from friends outside of work). You are relatively stress-free in this setting. The other side of this card is that it is not particularly challenging or rewarding. You might be bored and looking for something more.

Version 22) The 2 of Pentacles is a card that shows stress and change. It can be dynamic and exciting. However, when shown upside-down, I see it more as simply chaotic and unenjoyable. That doesn’t mean it would be a bad decision, necessarily. You may be looking to shake things up. If this is appealing to you, I would wager that you would not stay at job #2 very long, but that it might advance you to a different scenario and set of choices.

9 of Wands PCS3) The 9 of Wands is about strength and protection. I believe it says to be cautious and not to act impulsively. It reminds you that you have strength and knowledge that will serve you in either situation. The figure in this image looks outward, as if being open to change but wary of nonsense. The advice that I see from this is to stay put for now and keep your eyes open for opportunities that will be a better match for you.”

Following this reading, the querent gave me the feedback that my input squared with her intuition, and that the reading encouraged her to believe that there could be a third, more promising option waiting in the wings.

*************

If you enjoyed this Tarot Workout, these other offerings may interest you as well:

  • You, too, can get an online reading from Present Day Tarot! I offer written answers to your questions with a 3-day turnaround. You can contact me via email for clarification following the reading. Email me to make arrangements:  (yetta@presentdaytarot.com).
  • For Seattle locals, I offer classes in my South Seattle studio. To learn about my 2017 Summer Series, follow this blog or my Facebook page, and/or email me to get on my mail list.
  • Read other Tarot Workouts in my blog.
One thought on “Tarot Workout: Should I Change Jobs?

Leave a Reply

