What to Do When the Election is Over?

I don’t know a tarot reader who hasn’t tried to predict the outcome of the 2016 U.S. presidential election. If only it were that easy! Beyond the curiosity and sport of it, most readers agree that that kind of prediction is a misuse of the Tarot. Unless you are miraculously able to get neutral about the subject, your reading will simply reflect your hopes and fears, making the message more about you than anything else.

The better way use tarot is to bring meaning to current events by framing your question around personal power – Tarot’s specialty. I asked, “What can I do to make this next year as positive as possible when the election is over?” I’m as anxious as anybody here on election eve, and my hopes and fears are ever present. This is what I got from my 3-card spread, using the Crowley-Harris Thoth Deck:

 

cci07112016Card 1: Ace of Swords, Reversed

This represents the situation as it is now, 24 hours prior to the start of election results. In general, the Ace of Swords is a bold new chapter with big ideas. The reversal reflects the timeline. The answer will come tomorrow at the soonest, and then again on January 20, 2017, inauguration day.

My hopes see my candidate in this: smart, straight and decisive. My fears see the other just as clearly: forceful, brutish and determined. The message I can rely on: It’s a new chapter for the country either way. We can depend on that. Suspense so thick you could cut it with a knife.

 

Version 2Action: Ace of Disks, Reversed

Two aces! The second one represents the action that will move the country towards our highest good. This card says to meet the new chapter with equally big energy, with a response on the scale of the Ace of Coins. Like before, the ace is abundant energy. But the disk is different than the sword. The earth sign disks represent actual, physical work – walking the talk in a big way. Putting money forward if necessary. My take on the reversal is that this energy will not be self evident at first, and will not be business as usual. Although I may not know the action required of me yet, this ace tells me to make practical.

 

cci07112016_2Outcome: Hermit, Upright

This is a Major Arcana card, but it is not apocalyptic in nature. It is not the Tower or the Devil, and it’s upright, which I find reassuring. I see no possible connection between this card and a future Holocaust or destruction on a global scale (which seems very possible when I talk to my fears). The Hermit says that, should the action in Card 2 happen fully, the result will be a profound and permanent change on our country. This is the kind of change that is precipitated by knowledge, insight, and evolution. For me, this card embodies the Dr. King quote, “the arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends towards justice.”

Okay, so it’s not as sexy a prediction as: “Hillary will win in a landslide,” or “Trump drops out and moves to Mexico,” but it does leave me with something. It says:

  1. Acknowledge that you are living a monumental time in history.
  2. If you are happy with the leadership, support it. If you are not, help change it. You have as much power to affect change as anyone.
  3. This is part of our collective evolution and it’s not helpful to panic. Go watch the election results with friends, drink cocktails and eat some chocolate tart. (That’s my hope talking).

**********

Contact me if you’re interested in readings, mentoring sessions, parties, or any other Present Day Tarot services. You can book a reading directly to my calendar by using my scheduling software.

Leave a Reply

