6 of Swords

I occasionally go out into public with a “Free Tarot” sign attached to my purse. If people see, notice, and ask, I will do an impromptu reading.

I was headed to downtown Seattle a couple years ago for a protest. I don’t remember the event as much as the ride there on light rail with my purse slung across my shoulder. A man stopped me – “What’s that sign say there?” – and so we began.

He asked how he could be happy in his life, and what he could do to be more settled? Out came the 6 of Swords. I said something like:

“This card is about taking a courageous journey from rough waters to something more promising. The journey follows stress and anxiety. The card is here to reassure you that you are not alone, that there are other people supporting you and cheering you on – maybe even helping to steer the boat some time.”

He was quiet and very slow to reply, but eventually told me he was on his way to his AA meeting. He’d been thinking of skipping out, but now he knew he’d go.

The chances of my having spoken to this stranger under any other circumstance was as close to zero as it gets. But here we were, shaking hands warmly, making fearless eye contact, and sincerely wishing each other all the best for a glorious future.

The images above are from (l-r) the Rider-Waite-Smith deck and the Ghetto Tarot.

*****
Email me today if you want a Present Day Tarot reading. Tell me your time zone and what time/day of the week you’d prefer. I’ll get back to you with my next available openings.

One thought on “6 of Swords

Leave a Reply

